Bassick High School
School Governance Council

School Governance Council

School Governance Councils (councils) provide a remarkable opportunity for Connecticut schools to engage with families and community members in the essential dialogue about student achievement and preparing all students for success.
Governance Council Goals for 2013-2014
1- Increase student class attendance.
2- Improve the school facility.

School Governance Councils were created by the state’s recent education reform law (Public Act 10-111) to enable parents, school staff, students (where appropriate) and community leaders to work together to improve student achievement in the state’s lowest performing schools. School Governance Councils serve in an advisory capacity and are charged with assisting the school administration in making programmatic and operational changes to improve the school’s achievement.

Elected Teachers

1.  Steven James    

2.  Kailey Barney - Secretary  

3.  Ryan Bell  

4.  Kathleen Flynn

5. Donna Koolis

Elected Parents

1.  Andrew Coke   

2.  Dan Comeau - Chair  

3.  Wendy Jones

4. Joanne Kennedy

5. Cleveland Lyle

6.  Stafford McCollough 

7. Lisa Softleigh - Vice Chair

 Community Members (if already appointed/decided upon by the council)

1. Julie Hewitt

2. Dave Gordon   

Student Representatives

1.  Kevin Hernadez  

2.  Shante Miller



Parent Resource Center

Room 164

Call: 203-275-3196

Open on School Days:

Monday through Friday

8:30 am to 2:00 pm

(closed at noon on ½ days)


Bassick’s Parent Resource Center offers training, support and the ability for parents and guardians to connect to the school and encourage our students. Tell us what you need and want- contact Ms. Gibson at 203-275-3196 or