Saturday, April 19, 2014


Bryant School was named for William Cullen Bryant, the famous American poet and influential newspaper editor. The building was constructed in 1912 at a cost of $53,600. C.T. Beardsley, the architect and builder, designed an eight room fireproof building for 509 students. Four additional classrooms were added in 1915. In 1987, plans to renovate Bryant School began, however construction did not start until the fall of 1995. DeCarlo and Doll, Inc. were selected as the architects. Parents, staff, and administrators worked closely with the architects to design the building. Two additions were added to create space for eight new classrooms as well as rooms for the library/media center, art, music, reading lab, math lab, ESL, and learning center. Plans also included a state of the art kitchen/cafeteria, multi-purpose room for physical education, and offices for support staff.

On August 26, 1997, the new Bryant School reopened with 560 students from Pre-kindergarten through sixth grade. Bryant School has had a wonderful staff and faculty in its 90 year history. Miss Anna Rickard served as the first principal for an amazing 43 years, from 1912 until her retirement in 1954. Helena Gayle followed as the second principal from 1954 until 1964. Edith Ahronson served as the third principal from 1964 until 1976. Helen Pitzko was the fourth principal from 1976 until 1988. Lawrence Menta became the fifth principal in 1988. William Quintana was appointed principal in 1989. Milagros Vizcarrondo was the principal of Bryant School from 2003-2005. Audrey Skoda was principal from the academic year 2005 to 2008.  In the 2008-2009 academic school year Bryant received its current principal, Mrs. G.D. Walker-Jones